Rich to ruined

Hi everyone!

Moving on to the next set of books, which is going to be Classic Novels! After this post (which is about the story, A Little Princess) I will probably not write another for some time because I’m reading rather a long book (not giving even the slightest hint of what it is!!). This story is a very moving novel about a girl who had everything…. (buy the book here)

Sara meets Ram Dass

Sara Crewe and her father lived in India and they were incredibly rich, but they had to go to England where Sara was sent to a girl’s seminary. Here she was presented as a show pupil and got everything she wanted, like a princess.* Life was perfect for Sara, as always, except for the fact that she is not in her father’s presence. Then one horrible day the news is upon her that her father has died and has left her no money and she must work as a scullery maid in the attic of the school. She is told to do various jobs whenever the cook feels like bossing her around and has to go out in all weathers to shop for food. Life is miserable now for Sara, but she still keeps her kind and loving spirit and it doesn’t matter that she is treated horribly because it’s fine if she still believes that there is a true princess inside her.

What a beautiful novel this is and did you know that is was written in 1905?!! Wow, this book is nearly as old as me! Just kidding. Anyway, wouldn’t you love to be like Sara and have everything you wished for? She has a life every little girl would dream of and yet she doesn’t act the least bit spoiled. This I would find quite hard for I would like to boast a little bit about it. Sara is perfect. Not practically perfect, she’s just perfect. This is also a film and the film I don’t think is much different apart from the fact her father doesn’t really die, he just goes blind for a bit. But in the end they all live happily ever after, except for Miss Minchin, the cruel head of the girl’s seminary. She ends up working as a chimney sweep. Would you like to live as a chimney sweep? I don’t think so. Bye!!!

Simi Star rating: **** (4 stars)

 

4 thoughts on “Rich to ruined

  1. This was one of my favourite books ever; keep meaning to read it again! I think I was a little too young to appreciate it when I read it first. One thing among many that I like about the book is that Sara loves reading, and also she’s imaginative and makes up stories to tell to herself just like me! It so touching too. I’ve not seen the film you talked about but I have seen a quite good film of it made quite a while ago, with somebody called Amelia Shankley playing Sara. I like it because it sticks to the story quite a bit, and though a few changes are alright I hate it when directors try to make up their own story as if they think they’re as good as the authors. Have you read A Secret Garden, also by Frances Hodgson Burnett? That’s brilliant to. You should read it and review it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I like how Sara is spoiled quite a bit but she still cares so much about her friends and family. The film is actually quite different to the book, but I won’t spoil anything!
      I keep meaning to read the Secret Garden; right now it’s on my bookshelf gathering dust! I’ll be sure to put it on my reading list.

      Like

Leave a Reply

