The Prince in the Chair

The Silver Chair ~ C.S. Lewis

Hi readers!

The penultimate book in the Chronicles of Narnia is the Silver Chair, the tale of two children who have been instructed by the great lion Aslan to rescue Prince Rilian, King Caspian’s one and only heir, who disappeared mysteriously 10 years before…

Eustace and Jill are desperate to travel to Narnia to escape their miserable school and the terrible bullies that fill it. One day their wish is granted as they discover a door in the wall that will whisk them off to the edge of the world. But an adventure awaits them that will take them into the land of the Northern Giants and then down into the depths of the Underworld, where Prince Rilian of Narnia is being held captive. Guided by Puddleglum, a Narnian Marshwiggle, they begin their long journey to the Underworld. Time is running out fast and the children have missed the vital signs that will aid them in their quest. Will they be able to free the Prince before it’s too late?

Before I read Narnia, I watched the BBC TV series and I was always petrified by the Silver Chair. It was so scary! I have to say though, the book is not scary at all and I actually really enjoyed it! It was mainly written from the point of view of Jill, although it wasn’t in first person. The book was wonderfully written and I loved it! Some parts were boring, but I kept on reading until I reached a really dramatic bit, and eventually I finished and worked out that I really did like it. The characters were all skillfully created and the plot was very intriguing (apart from the more boring sections). Overall this book is an excellent read for children and adults of all ages!

Simi Star rating: **** (4 stars)

6 thoughts on “The Prince in the Chair

  1. Glad you liked it! As you probably know, this is my favorite Narnia book. 🙂

    And I agree, I watched the BBC Narnia series (though not before I read the books) a long while ago and I thought it was quite scary. But I kinda want to watch them again. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

