An Unofficial MMC

Howdy readers!

Sorry I haven’t been posting much lately, but to make up for it I’m going to share with you an unofficial Monday’s Minute Challenge that I did! Monday’s Minute Challenge is a short writing challenge in which you must write between 150-300 words around a certain sentence, picture or set of three words. You can find out more/participate in some here! Enjoy 🙂

 

“Rose! A letter for you!” I raced downstairs as fast as I could to the front door, where my father was standing with a letter in his hand. Nodding, he handed it to me and I ran back upstairs into my room, slamming the door behind me. My heart was all aflutter as I looked down at the snowy white envelope in my shaking palm.

I paused and looked at my face in the mirror. There he was, right next to me, smiling with his hand gently resting on my shoulder. I looked round and saw that I was alone in the room. My face turned towards the mirror once more and a glistening tear tumbled down my pale cheek.

Taking a deep breath, I slowly sliced open the envelope and looked in. Heart hammering, I extracted what was inside: a rose petal. A few moments passed as I stared at it, its scent filling my nostrils. All of a sudden I burst into uncontrollable tears; I knew now that he had forgotten me, and that his heart belonged to another.

“It’s all over…” I whispered to myself, as the petal gracefully drifted to the floor.

2 thoughts on “An Unofficial MMC

Leave a Reply

