Tails of Blackberry Bottom

The Witch of Blackberry Bottom ~ Dick King-Smith

Hey y’all!

I’ve been slacking a lot with my posts lately because of exams and summer rollin’ in fast, but I’ve put aside a little time to write a mini review! Hopefully when I break up from school I can post more frequently… Anyway, on with my review on one of my favourite children’s books of all time – the Witch of Blackberry Bottom.

The mysterious Miss Slade… No one knows who she is, why she is rich as a king or how she possesses an eye patch over one eye. They think she is a witch. She pongs a little too… One day, when the Reader family move into the house up the road, the mystery begins to unfold as the two children, Patsy and Jim, discover who she really is. Life seems to brighten for Miss Slade as she makes a friendship with the Readers, but problems are blooming and her secrets are being uncovered. Can this new family save the day before it’s too late for Miss Slade?

I love this book! When I first read it I was around 7 years old. I found the book again in Year 6 and doubted that I would still like it, but I was wrong. It’s really not as extravagant as it sounds, but it’s a sweet book that every child should read. I love how the Reader family change Miss Slade and make her into a new person. It’s obviously a children’s book so there isn’t that much to say about it, but overall it’s a really cute book that little kids will love! I certainly did (and still do…).

Simi Star rating: **** (4 stars)

2 thoughts on “Tails of Blackberry Bottom

Leave a Reply

