Dennis and the Dress

The Boy in the Dress ~ David Walliams

Hey y’all!

Sorry about my lack of posting. But, here I am reviewing the children’s bestseller by David Walliams, the Boy in the Dress. I was at my friend’s house and I saw this book on the shelf. I asked if I could borrow it because a few months ago I’d seen the film and really liked it, so I thought I’d read it. Here it is…

But wait! Before you read it, are you in need of a blog makeover? Check out Allie’s blog design site! She’s just kicked it off and she would really appreciate it if you wandered over there and took a look. Thanks guys! Now on with the post!

Dennis lives in an ordinary house, in an ordinary street, in an ordinary town. But Dennis feels different. When he buys a copy of Vogue from the local shop and befriends Lisa, the prettiest and most popular girl in school, his inner self is unlocked and he shows his passion for fashion. For fun, Lisa persuades Dennis to wear a dress and pretend to be girl for a day. Dennis, for once, feels happy and free, but his secret could easily be discovered and disaster soon spreads in Dennis’ life. Can it really hurt to be yourself?

Walliams has written this book well, carefully weaving in brilliant messages of not being ashamed to be yourself.

There were lots of different types of kids at the school, but Darvish was the only one who wore a patka.

“Do you feel different Darvesh?” asked Dennis.

“In what way?”

“Well, just, you know, you’re the only boy in the school who has to wear one of those things on your head.”

“At first I did, yes. I felt a bit embarrassed ‘cos I knew I looked different to everyone… And then I suppose as people got to know me they realised I wasn’t really that different. I just wear this funny thing on my head!” He laughed.

Dennis laughed too.

“Yeah, you’re just my mate, Darvesh. I don’t really think about the thing on your head at all. In fact, I’d quite like one.”

“No, you wouldn’t. It itches like hell! But you know, it would be boring if we were all the same wouldn’t it?”

“It certainly would.” Dennis smiled.

I really liked how understanding Darvesh’s character was, and how nonjudgmental and encouraging Lisa was. Dennis’ older brother John was actually really sweet too, as was Mac and Raj and Dennis’ dad at the end… I basically loved every single character, even Mr Hawtrey who was the horrible headmaster! But I have to say that Lisa was my favourite character; she never failed to help Dennis out and she was a friend to him from the start, and to everyone else too. Normally the most popular girl in school is all snobby and selfish, but Lisa was the opposite. Best of all, she opened Dennis’ eyes. Overall, this is an adorable book with some great lessons and is perfect for kids and adults!

Simi Star rating: ***** (5 stars)

3 thoughts on “Dennis and the Dress

    • I know!!! Do you like it? I’m not sure about it, so I might change it but I’ll see how it goes.
      That’s fine – thanks for commenting!
      I think it was a BBC film so you probably haven’t seen it. Thank you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • It … takes me a long to get use to change, so I’m probably not the best to ask. 😉 But whatever you feel you like best!
        I don’t usually watch BBC films, except Narnia, because, duh! 😛

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

