An Adventure in Africa

The Elephant Shrew ~ Anthony Irvin

Why hello there bookworms…

So about three years ago, Anthony Irvin came into my school and told us about how awesome Africa was. Being the curious gal that I am, and also a lover of travel and adventure, I bought one of his books. Recently I decided to reread it because I really liked it and wanted to review it on here. Bear in mind this is the second book in the series and I haven’t read the first, but it’s still pretty understandable except for the parts when it mentions something from the previous book and I get annoyed because it makes the first one sound so much more interesting but anyway, I think it would be a good idea if I shut up round about now so that you can read my review.

Lucy, Kal and Ellie stumble into another African safari adventure when their plane crashes and they spend the night in a cave. Inside they discover Arabic writing on the walls, and set out to uncover the mystery. They face many dangers include hazardous cliffs, treacherous currents and annoyingly placed shafts that almost kill them as they discover the secrets of the old East African slave trade. But the horrors that they bring to light are more than they would have imagined…

First of all, I wanna say that Africa sounds amazing. The description in this novel seems to really bring the world of East Africa alive. At times it was a little boring, I have to say, but the writer does shower a lot of excitement in other places to make up for it; the rest is definitely a fun action-packed adventure! I liked Kal because he was always curious, and Matata who was fun and lovable. Also, the front cover and little animal illustrations inside are very beautiful. An adventurous tale filled with thrilling plot twists, The Elephant Shrew is a fun family story for all ages.

Simi Star rating: **** (4 stars)

3 thoughts on “An Adventure in Africa

Leave a Reply

