Frightenin’ Lightnin’

imageThe Lightning Thief ~ Rick Riordan

Hey everyone!

GUESS WHAT?! I picked up Harry Potter and the Cursed Child from the bookshop so be sure to look out for my review! I’m so excited to read it. Also just a reminder that my Blogiversary competition deadline is in three days so get writing! Anyway, I’m currently reading the epic series of Percy Jackson and the Olympians, and here’s the first book The Lightning Thief.

Percy’s life is flipped upside down when he discovers he is the son of the sea god, Poseidon. He is separated from his mother, accused of a theft he did not commit and thrown into a dangerous mission in which he must retrieve the stolen item: his uncle Zeus’ master lightning bolt. With Grover, his satyr friend and Annabeth, daughter of Athena, he embarks on his quest to stop the beginning of World War III. But he faces many challenges ahead, as he must uncover the true thief, travel to the Underworld to take back the bolt and rescue his mother from the Lord of the Dead, Hades, all by the summer solstice; but time is running out. Can Percy save the world before it’s too late?

Hands down, this is one of my favourite book series of all time. It’s so captivating and masterfully told – I couldn’t put it down – and I enjoyed every second. The writing is bursting with detail and yet there’s still plenty of action and thrill. Each character was wonderfully illustrated and, thinking about it, I don’t think there’s one character that I hated. Thankfully Percy isn’t a super annoying main character, and Annabeth and Grover are just awesome. There aren’t that many important characters so I have to say my favourite is probably Annabeth because she’s smart (what would you expect from a daughter of Athena?) but badass at the same time. Loved it!

Satyr Star rating: ***** (5 stars)

4 thoughts on “Frightenin’ Lightnin’

  1. OH MY GOODNESS, I LOVE THIS SERIES SO MUCH!!!!

    I have read (and listened to the audiobooks) countless times!!!

    (And I may have hyperventilated when I asked my mom if we could go to some friends’ house in October and see Rick Riordan … and now we are!! XD )

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great blog post Sim – I knew you were enjoying this series as you’ve been head down at every available point but now I know why!
    Love ya and happy 3rd blogiversary!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

