National Author’s Day

Hello readers and writers and other human beings of this world.

So, as you may or may not know, this Tuesday is National Author’s Day! Exciting times. Therefore I thought it would be a nice idea to formally rant about why my favourite authors are so amazing. I know you’re excited. Stop throwing confetti around! Throw authors around instead.

Now, because I am an honourable fan of lists, this is how I shall present my formal rants. Here is a list of my top 3 favourite authors! I know that seems a little amount, but I am a busy child (aka my TBR awaits).

Please note that these authors are in no particular order, accept the order in which they came to the top of my head. I love all of my authors equally, how dare you say otherwise.


1) Lemony Snicket – writer of A Series of Unfortunate Events

Shocking, I know. I literally never talk about him… Ever… Oh be quiet, IL EST AMAZING. Ignore what I said about loving authors equally, we all know he’s my favourite. Snicket rules supreme. Admit to his fabulousness or suffer certain death.

My favourite thing about Lemony Snicket is that his writing is so clever and sneaky and everything is mysteriously connected in some way yet you still have questions that will never be answered because Snicket is a cruel writer. He publishes a new book and you’re praying that it will reveal the answers to all your life questions but NO. Snicket just don’t work like that, innocent little bookworm. YOUR QUESTIONS WILL NEVER BE ANSWERED AND YOU WILL LIVE A LIFE OF MISERY. I have already spent many of my years searching for the Quagmires, looking through files such as The Unauthorized Autobiography and The Beatrice Letters, but I am yet to find my poor little darlings. No, I am not crying right now. I will stay strong… *bursts into uncontrollable sobbing*

Unfortunately, (aha, see what I did there) I don’t think there’s actually a name for the Snicket fandom, and so, as a loyal fan, I feel I am obliged to name it… the Lemons. Pure genius, I know. My purpose in this world has been fulfilled.


2) Lauren Child – writer of Ruby Redfort

I feel like Lauren Child is way too underrated. Yes, yes, I know Charlie and Lola is a TV show and all that, but what about her actual novels? The epic Clarice Bean? The amazing Ruby Redfort? GO READ PEOPLES. Just kidding, finish this post first. I haven’t actually read a Lauren Child book in about 2 years, but never fear, I shall be finishing the Ruby Redfort series hopefully very soon, as I shall be forcing my mother to buy the last two books. I’m a nice daughter, I know. “But mum, it’s educational…” And yes, THREE NEW BOOKS have been released since I read the third one. Time flies, am I right? So yes, I hope to be gobbling those up ASAP.

As I was saying, Ruby Redfort has so little appreciaption I’m crying right now. Oh, so many tears in this post. Come on guys, one of the books literally has a BUBBLEGUM SCENTED FRONT COVER. Yes, it is also the only one of the books I have on my kindle. I am very upset. Moving on from the scented covers, these books have everything. Awesome characters, super awesome spy stuff, loads of action and nail-biting scenes… in short, I am in love. When I’m older, I’m so going to be a secret agent. I mean as well as a writer and ninja and pirate. Ambitious, I know. Just you wait…


3) Rick Riordan – writer of Percy Jackson and the Olympians

I know, I know, this is also a huge surprise to you all. I mean, it’s not like I’ve been blabbering on about him endlessly in my most recent posts. It’s actually starting to annoy me, and I’m sure you will agree, how flawless this man’s writing is. Flawless, I say.

There are many things that make Uncle Rick fabulous. One of the most fabulous things is the awesome characters he creates who are basically my best friends, no lie. If I ever feel lonely I will literally talk to them in my mind. Yes, I am that sad. Yes, when I opened my very first book, I did lose my sanity. Please help.

But probably the most fabulous thing, if I even dare to pick one, is how this fabulous man can stuff SO MUCH CONTENT into one book that it makes my head explode with excitement and my fingers sore from turning the pages too quickly. I, very sadly, suffer from skipping-through syndrome, but I only tend to see symptons in extra-fabulous books such as those of Uncle Rick. The last time I suffered greatly from this illness was, in fact, in the works of the great Snicket (see above) which just proves that these authors are off-the-scale fabulous, darn it.


Other favourites:

  • J.K. Rowling
  • John Grisham
  • Wendy Orr
  • C.S. Lewis
  • Cressida Cowell
  • Markus Zusak
  • Geraldine McCaughrean

Thanks for reading everyone! Hope you enjoyed this little different post. Who’s your favourite author? Do you share any of mine? If so, fangirl with me. If not, how dare you come here. Go sit in a corner and rethink your life.

Also, a big thank you to Alyssa for getting me obsessed with horizontal lines. Thanks a lot Alyssa.

4 thoughts on “National Author’s Day

  1. Ah! I’ve only read three of these. BUT C.S. LEWIS IS AWESOME. 😀 In truth, I don’t have a favorite author, but my favorite book is An Acceptable Time by Madeleine L’Engle. I just really loved the peace and forgiveness and nonviolence themes in the book, also the way she values all relationships, not just romantic ones. It’s also my favorite autumn read. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh oh I LOVE Rick Riordan and Lemony Snicket so much too!! I think Snicket books were like my first true fandom experience.😂 I collected them all as a kid and like meticulously made sure the covers matched and reread them 924829 times and AHHH SO MUCH LOVE!! I also love Charlie and Lola and I read them to 5yo nephew all the time! I never realised she wrote more books…I need to look them up. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s always nice to ‘meet’ another Snicket fan because, unfortunately (hehe), I haven’t ‘met’ very many. Don’t you just pity those who don’t like a bit of Snicket? They were my first fandom experience too 😀 And Ruby Redfort is definitely worth reading.

      Like

Leave a Reply

