5 of my favourite childhood books

Hey people of the Shire.

Look at me, posting on time! *rapturous applause* What was that you said? Where have my reviews gone? I don’t really know either. I think they just felt like taking a break and going on a 2 month holiday to Thailand. But they’ll be back for Christmas, never fear! For now, I am going to share some of my most beloved books from my childhood years. Ah, those were the days. The dinosaurs were so friendly – speaking of dinosaurs, I haven’t seen any in while…

1) Rainbow Magic – these books were the very first chapter books I ever read, so they’re pretty special. I was (and still am) obsessed with fairies, so I was instantly hooked to these books. I was never stuck with nothing to read because THEY JUST KEPT COMING OUT. There must be around 300 different rainbow magic books in the world, all of them with EXACTLY THE SAME PLOT just a different fairy. But it seems like I didn’t mind too much, because I owned around 100. I’ve given all of them away of course, except around two which I kept for old time’s sake. Trust me, when I was little, these books were the HYPE.


2) Tumtum and Nutmeg – this series isn’t as popular, but it’s definitely one close to my heart. Every night, my mum and I would read them together, and I adored them. They told the story of two little mice, who live in the house of two children, who only have an eccentric scientist father to care for them, so the mice take it upon themselves to look after the children and it’s the sweetest little story. What’s not to like about two little mice who live in a tiny little mansion behind a broom cupboard and write letters to the children upstairs?


3) Terry Deary’s Egyptian Tales – I don’t really remember much about these books, except that they were amazing. We were learning about Egyptians at school and I think I got these books as a gift and I LOVED THEM. The stories were actually pretty gripping for kid’s books, and of course the illustrations were amazing. May I also add that Terry Deary has a really nice voice? Am I right? Anyone…?


4) Meerkat Madness – this is also another series that I read every night, except this one I read with my dad. I remember it being about three little talking meerkat siblings who go on little adventures and find hunter camps and try not to get eaten by eagles and the such, and it was pretty funny (at least for a kid my age).


5) Little Foxes – for Christmas one year, my mum bought me around 50 Michael Morpurgo books but, for some reason, I never really got into his books. I’ve literally only read about 5 of them, and got them around 5 years ago… But the ones I have read, I’ve loved. This was probably my favourite because it was such a sweet little story about a boy who feels a little isolated from everyone else but loves animals (from a Morpurgo book? I am shocked to my socks) and ends up running away from home with a little fox and the story is SO CUTE and sad and ah. I should reread this some time. And read all of the other Morpurgo books I have, SHEESH SIMI.

Hope you enjoyed this little post! What are some of your favourite childhood books? Do you share any of mine? Lettuce discuss.

6 thoughts on “5 of my favourite childhood books

  1. RAINBOW MAGICS WERE MY FAVORITE!!! I, uh, use to color in the pictures in the one that I owned. 😉

    When we were moving, I found one that my mom’s friend had given me (my first one) and read it to my little sis. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh oh Terry Deary!! That’s the author of Horrible Histories too, right?! I was OBSESSED with those as a kid.😂 I mean, who doesn’t like learning gruesome historical facts?! Hehe…okay fine. Probably lots of people don’t like it and I’m a bit worried about myself. BUT EH. Good childhood times.😂
    I was also really into The Boxcar Children and Beverly Cleary!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

