Fact File: Cressida Cowell

IT’S CHRISTMAS EVE EVE OH MY GOODNESS ONLY TWO MORE DAYS AHHH.

No, I’m not screaming and running around and knocking over Christmas trees. How dare thee accuse me of such a thing.

And no, this post isn’t even Christmas themed. Shame on me.

Today I’m doing another fact file, this one on Cressida Cowell, the fantastically amazing writer of How to Train Your Dragon, one of my favourite children’s books (and films) of all time. We actually have a lot in common, Cressida and I, because we both are dragon queens with degrees in dragonology. Yeah, I know. I have many hidden talents.

Anyways, Merry Christmas for Sunday! If you don’t celebrate Christmas, I hope you’re enjoying the holidays! And remember, Jesus is the reason for the season 😉

Cressida Cowell:
Gender: Female
Age: 50
Occupation: writer
Famous for: How to Train Your Dragon series
Comment:
Cowell grew up partly in London and partly on an island off the
west coast of Scotland. On this island, there were no roads,
houses or electricity, so Cressida spent a lot of her time
drawing and writing stories. Her father told her legends of the
Vikings who invaded their island and the dragons thought to have
lived in caves in the cliffs. These legends helped her to form
her stories of Vikings and dragons and, eventually, the How to
Train Your Dragon series we know and love today. She studied
English and later graphic design and illustration, before
beginning her work of writing children's picture books. Her most
famous book, How to Train Your Dragon, was made into a film in
2010, with a sequel in 2014. She still lives in London, but now
with her husband Simon and their three children.

To learn more about Cressida Cowell, click here.
2 thoughts on “Fact File: Cressida Cowell

    • *whispers* how could you…? Just kidding, it’s cool! I’ve only the read the first book and I watched the films first so I should be ashamed too. I definitely recommend the book though because it’s downright hilarious.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

