Deep into the depths of death

House of Hades ~ Rick Riordan

Heyyy young mortals.

I can hear the Lemons of the world screaming even from my house in the middle of nowhere in which I read, bake and hold my enemies captive in a cage made of the shattered pieces of my squishy lil soul. Ahaha I’m just kidding, I can’t bake. But yes, today is the day that A Series of Unfortunate Events is released on Netflix and OH MY GIDDY AUNT the hype is unreal, peoples. I might even write a review for it, it’s that exciting.

Moving on, I’ve just finished the penultimate Heroes of Olympus book and arghhh I am SO BUZZING for the last book: my heart is all a-flutter and I’m baking brownies just to calm myself, because food is calming. I’m so close to finishing the series and my squishy heart is breaking a little, but I’ve got a beautiful amount of books itching to be read, so it’s all good! I won’t be turning into a lonely, bookless apple pie anytime soon. On to the review…

And um, to Tartarus with spoilers.

Tartarus (/ˈtɑːrtərəs/; Greek: Τάρταρος Tartaros), in ancient Greek mythology, is the deep abyss that is used as a dungeon of torment and suffering for the wicked and as the prison for the Titans.

While Percy and Annabeth attempt to close the Doors of Death from the heart of Tartarus itself, the rest of the heroes must battle their way across the Mediterranean to find the House of Hades, a temple in Greece where the mortal side of the Doors of Death is located. This is the only way to stop Gaia from waking, but, for all of the heroes, it is their biggest challenge yet. Without Percy and Annabeth, the crew are struggling on their journey, and must discover more of their hidden powers to face the House of Hades and the monsters awaiting them. Meanwhile, Percy and Annabeth must travel across Tartarus, trying their best to survive each minute, looking into the face of death with almost every step they take. Can the two groups close the Doors from both sides and live to destroy Gaia once and for all?

Wow, where do I start with this book? There is so much character development and the plot is probably the best of all the Heroes of Olympus books and argh this book is perfection. First of all, Percabeth kinda squished my insides a little. I mean, traveling through Tartarus together was kind of a huge step in their relationship, and that’s saying a lot for these two. THEY ARE JUST THE CUTEST. I really enjoyed their POV chapters because, bein’ in Tartarus and all, there was always a lot going on and they were basically fighting monsters all the time, but it wasn’t just crammed full of action; there were also a few cute Percabeth moments and some lovely walking on the skin of the god of damnation. Then there was some absolutely amazing development going on with Hazel. That girl just amazes me peeps. I love how she’s not wimpy – she has such a calm mind and thinks quickly about things. I did feel like her powers matured a bit too quickly, but I can understand that she’s pretty powerful, and you could definitely see that throughout this book. And a round of applause for Frank! He is the sweetest little thing and I’m so proud of him. I wasn’t overly happy about his ‘growth spurt’ and getting abs and stuff. I know it’s kind of a ‘becoming a man’ thing and a blessing from Mars and all that, but I miss teddy bear Frank because I feel like that was actually Frank. However, I do understand that he is a total beast in this as well, and it’s an understandable change. Oh, and Nico? HE IS SUCH A SQUISHY LIL BALL OF SUFFERING AND CUTENESS and even though I already knew the Nico spoiler in this, it still melted and shattered my soul simultaneously with all that stuff about no one accepting him and ARGH I am broken. Also: Jason and Nico are now, like, my fave friendship of the heroes.

Onto the plot, I loved how it was told from all of the seven in this so you could see things from everyone’s brainforests (yes, it’s back) and there was always something going on so it was never boring. I liked seeing Percy/Annabeth’s story in Tartarus and then a completely different plot occurring with the rest of the heroes. THE PLOT WAS PERFECTION BASICALLY. This book is just fabulous and I cannot even contain my squeals for the last one.

Clover count: ♠♠♠♠♠♠♠♠♠ (9/10)

2 thoughts on “Deep into the depths of death

  1. Ahahahahha!!! I remember when I read this book…

    It was January 2014 and I was babysitting a little girl from our old church and at the very end the lady gave us each a late Christmas present. I got gummy lifesavers, fuzzy socks, and some other odds and ends, AND THE FREAKING HOUSE OF HADES. I was ecstatic. When my mom had asked me a couple months before what book I really wanted, I wasn’t sure who wanted to know. But since there were tons of holds on it. I got to read it. I loved it.

    But I tooooootally agree on Frank! Keep Frank Frank! Well, you know what I mean. 😉

    Like

    • Haha, that was so nice of her! I just borrowed this from my friend.
      Yeah, I way prefer Frank Frank 😉 I can just imagine him handing out hugs when people feel really upset and they would be such good hugs hehe.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

